Leon County Public Library - Main Menu Template
Leon County Logo Father and children exploring books Visitor to 50th Anniversary Celebration Image of the Courthouse and main library
Storytime with music and fun Proctor statue at Main Library, 1st Floor
home
Agendas
Online Services
Community Resources
Search Library Catalog
left side line art
 
spacer
bullet Leon County Home Page
spacer
bullet Library
spacer image spacer image
spacer image
spacer image
spacer image
spacer image
spacer image

 


 
right side line art

Small Library Header Graphic

M A I N  L I B R A R Y
200 West Park Avenue
Tallahassee, FL 32301  
(850) 606-2665
TDD (850) 606-2603


Databases

All databases may be used in the library. If you are outside the library, you will need a Library Card

PowerSearch
     Search all magazines and many other  databases at once,
or choose specific databases to search.

Need help selecting a database? Try our Homework Help guide.

If you know the name of the database, click here for alphabetical listing.

Know the type of database you need?

Magazines

Back to Top

Newspapers

Back to Top

Health Reference

Back to Top

Research / Encyclopedias

  • Junior Edition
         Research database for students in junior high and
         middle school.
  • Kid's Edition
         Research database for elementary school students.
  • Opposing Viewpoints
         Commentary and analysis looking at many sides of the issues.
  • Student Edition
         Research database for high school students
  • Student Resource Center
         Student-research database containing thousands of
         primary documents, biographies, articles and more
  • World Book Encyclopedia
         Articles from the encyclopedia, plus pictures, videos
         and more. Click here if your are in the library, or
         here if you are outside the library

Back to Top

Testing/Tutoring

  • Learning Express
         Choose from more than 300 practice tests and courses,
         including GED, SAT, ACT and GRE.

Back to Top

Do-It-Yourself

  • Auto Repair Reference Center
    Contains information on most major manufacturers of domestic and imported vehicles, with repair information for most vintage makes starting as far back as 1945.
  • Home Improvement  
    A Do-It-Yourself resource for electrical, maintenance, plumbing, woodworking and more!

Back to Top

Biography & Genealogy

Back to Top

Literature & Reading Guides

  • BookLetters 
         Gain access to online book discussions, the hottest
         new titles and authors, professional reviews of the
         titles you want to know about, and even our own
         staff recommendations. You can even reserve the
         books right from your e-mails.
  • Book Browse
         Selections from the most interesting current books
         with multiple reviews, author interviews and more.
  • First Search
         Locate items held at libraries nationwide.
  • Literature Resource Center
         Critical analysis of more than 120,000 authors from
         every age and literary discipline
  • What Do I Read Next?
         Recommended reads, plot summaries, & award
         information, searchable by genre, subject, author,
         title, series, and more
  • Online Book Clubs
         Sign up for any of the 11 book clubs and receive
         5-minute reads in your e-mail

Back to Top

Business & Legal

Back to Top

Spanish Language

  • Informe
         Una colleción de revistas en español con texto incluido.
         Abarca negocios, salud, teconología, cultura, temas de
         actualidad y otras materias.
  • Learning Express
         Cursos y ejercicios para Hispanoparlantes que desean
         mejorar su dominio del Inglés.
  • World Book Spanish (Enciclopedia World Book en Español)
         Seleccione “Spanish-Language Encyclopedia”. Para
         acceder a ésta enciclopedia, oprima aqui si se
         encuentra dentro de la biblioteca, o aqui si se
         encuentra fuera de la biblioteca.
  • Libros Para Niños

Back to Top

E-media

  • netLibrary
         Check out e-Audiobooks and eBooks online using your
         library card.
  • OverDrive
         Check out e-Audiobooks and Videos online using your
         library card.

Back to Top

Other Resources

  • Search our Stumpers database for answers to some of the library’s most Frequently Asked Questions, especially regarding Tallahassee and Leon County.

  • Search our Clubs & Organizations database for groups in Leon County. You’ll find contact and meeting information in this database, which is searchable by name and subject

  • The library’s Small Business Center has books with advice on starting and managing your own business.


Return to Library Home Page Contact the Library Link Site Index Link

body line art


                                            Privacy & Accessibility Policy             Send Comments